facing the world with a pretty little blush

PBE is doing far more than just teach us basic makeup. She teaches us how to be in the heart of it all. And yesterday was proof. Going behind the scenes to see how everyone prepares for a show as big as Metrowear was more than what I bargained for.

I only went to Metrowear a few years back to support my designer cousin, Louis Claparols. This time, for Metrowear Rocks the Runway, I went to support him and get to observe the beautification process of everyone that’s going to be on the runway.

So anyway, we were asked to go to EDSA Shangri-La Hotel at 3pm. PBE showed us around, introduced us to the Editor-In-Chief of Metro Magazine, Michealle Torres, and International Ford’s Supermodel of the World 2011, Danica Magpantay. (I feel like making a separate entry just for her)

PBE introduced us to the Hair & Makeup Team. I know I should have sat down with the hair team and asked a few questions about hair too, but when the makeup team were setting up, you could bet I’m drawn like a metal to a magnet!

Where I spent 5 hours standing in awe. Literally standing, mind you!
Untitled

MAC artists were there, wearing black and looking their fab selves, just like how I pictured MAC girls would look like. I remember SoCal’s MAC girls looking all made up and pretty! Anyway, PBE introduced us to Don de Jesus and Pong Niu.
Untitled

If I made kwento every little detail and how great it felt to be there, this entry would be so looong! So here are some photos from my phone. Yes, I do not have a camera to capture precious moments like this!

Here’s Jarwin of MAC Trinoma making Jana dela Cruz prettier. (If you ever get to read this Jana, HI!)
Untitled

Odessa of MAC Rockwell scrambling from a smorgasbord of MAC Makeup!
Untitled

My classmates from SoFA Basic Makeup workshop, KA and Vangie, watching Al make celebrities more camera-ready. That’s Slater from Pinoy Big Brother
Untitled Untitled

That’s Rayver Cruz with Al
Untitled

Myrene, Odessa and Jarwin’s table:
Untitled droooool!

and the three at work
Untitled

Archie doing the makeup of Miss Beth
Untitled I wish I was able to take a photo of her after, she looked stunning! According to Pong, Archie does Vice Ganda’s makeup. :-)

Here’s Myrene, beautifying her first model
Untitled

The only reason why I go to Metrowear, Louis Claparols having his hair done
Untitled

The fab Pong in action, Vangie intently watching
Untitled
Untitled

Danica Magpantay sitting on Myrene’s chair, smiling for my camera! (ok, phone)
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
She’s waaaaay too nice! A supermodel complemented my feet! I’m not worthy!

Jarwin has got to be he nicest person I met inside the Batanes room! Look at him all smiles while doing his job!
Untitled

By 8PM, it was time for me to fix up for the event. Alone. So when the event hasn’t started yet, I went back to the Hair & Makeup room and found Zanjoe Marudo sitting on Jarwin’s chair! No, I did not take a photo of him, I was waay to stunned, so I only got to say hi.

Some other celebrities there I saw (and recognized, sorry I don’t watch TV a lot) was Joey Mead, Maja Salvador and Matteo G.

Here’s a few more (better than nothing) photos I took from the event:
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled

Music by Wolfgang. And that’s my grade-school crush Basti Artadi on stage singing!

Weeee! I’ve been waiting to see this! I was there alone but I wanted to shout and cheer, but of course, I did not.
Untitled
Untitled

That’s Louis, I think, standing at the far side of this photo, the 2nd guy from the left, watching his line. :-)
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled

I didn’t get to see this part, but I’m still so proud to post this, which I grabbed from Louis’ facebook page:
Screen Shot 2012-05-04 at 12.38.39 PM

So after Louis was co-YDG-er Veejay Floresca.
Untitled
Untitled

I took a few more photos then off I went. My feet were just too tired. I just realized I stood with the makeup crew in action for so long by the time I got to my heels it hurt.
Untitled
I walked back to the makeup room with Jarwin and we walked and left Shang together. I swear he has got to be the friendliest person in that room! So if you are planning to buy MAC cosmetics, go see him in Trinoma. (You can also look for Odessa in Rockwell, she’s really nice too!)

So extra thanks to PBE: Metro Magazine’s Beauty Editor Charmagne Garcia-Laconico for bringing us in and giving us this kind of exposure. Maybe I should call her CGL on my next blog entries. Or not. I kinda like PBE for her anyway. So as you will not wonder why I call her PBE (Pretty Beauty Editor), I grabbed this photo from Louis C’s facebook:
Screen Shot 2012-05-04 at 12.37.39 PM

Comments on: "Workshop Chronicles | Metrowear Rocks the Runway" (1)

  1. Charmagne Garcia-Laconico said:

    Hi Tet! I got to read your blog, and I should say I was so touched! Thanks for your compliments and for appreciating how I taught your class. Your batch was so much fun and real inspiring! I hope we can all get together for a mini reunion or something. Btw, I thought you wanted to apply? Send your writing and CV so I can endorse.
    Take care and God bless!
    Hugs!
    PBE ;)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,242 other followers

